Why Apple? Why NOT?

They call me Apple
From the day I was born
It's not unusual to where I grew up
They say it all started when they saw me cry
Deep red cheeks that looks so ripe
So I got the name I grew up with
But with paper it's different
A name that's ordinary
But unfamiliar to me
Who is to blame they all asked
It was my eldest brother's bright idea
What's up with the name
Again and again
No worries I said
I got used to it as time passed by
One day a friend of a relative once said
You're lucky with your nickname
Thank the person who gave it to you
Then I thought of my brother
The relative's friend continued
She said my life is full of misseries
And my nickname gave a balance on it
That's interesting I said to myself
Time passed by a lot has happened
The mystery whether it's true remained as it is
What's up with the name
Here we go again
I flew to a foreign land
Carrying the name I grew up with
At first it seems normal
But as I go places 
And meet the locals
What seems to be normal went unusual
I then had a job
Which name do you prefer they all asked
My answer is simple I said it's Apple
Their eyes went big
Then one resident asked
Did you give that name to yourself
To my surprise I answered with laughter
Then I report to work each day
Why the name
What was your mother even thinking
That's easy to remember
That's unusual
Now what's normal became peculiar
It's a bit annoying somehow
Their curiosity grew
Throwing questions and jokes everywhere
What's up with the name
I no longer answer
It was half of the year
They no longer ask
Again it feels unusual
I got used to them asking why Apple
I guess I have to get used to them asking no more
And they all call me Apple.

7 thoughts on “Why Apple? Why NOT?

    • Thanks rnik 😊 i’ve just learned something new again, i looked up: What’s in a name by shakespeare and its lovely! πŸ˜‰ This one, I wrote because I got the question a lot like how I got ‘Apple’ for a name, someone even asked me if I’m the one who named myself..sometimes it can be funny but it can be tiring sometimes too 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Seriously, you’ve got such an interesting motive in your life.
        You carry with you a whole lot of curiosity and inspiration.
        And when you are a writer, its a plus point, cause only a writer can have such a splendid name! 😎

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s cool! πŸ˜‰πŸ‘ Thanks rniks 😊 I’m looking forward to read your next post and get more inspired soon! There are times when we get so busy at work and i couldn’t write but reading interesting blogs makes it fun and enjoyable πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Apple, I’m sorry, I had no idea that was your name. I thought it was just for the blog. I don’t use mine, so I assumed. I think it is a fitting and perfect name, and your story as to its origins are so wonderful. Nature is in you, a beautiful apple, sweet and full of life. Like the tree, you grow stronger and are solid you have deep roots, that branch out, you are bountiful with giving. I wish I had a name like yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you grevisangel, it’s my eldest brother who gave it to me when I was born. A businesswoman once told me that I was destined to live with all the hardships and challenges in life and the name ‘Apple’ balanced it all. It’s like a prophesy yet surprisingly true. She also told me to thank my brother for it which I do in every way possible. I really appreciate all the positive words you gave me thank you so much, it makes me feel like I met a friend who’s willing to share her knowledge and learnings in life. I would definitely invite you for a cup of coffee if we’re only in the same place (only if you’d agree that is) and talk about a lot of things and exchange some great ideas. πŸ˜‰πŸ‘

      Liked by 1 person

      • That would be nice and i would welcome it.I mean meeting you and sharing stories. Your brother must have been prophetic. He was in tune and in touch with the inner you, what a gift. It was like destiny, and it has had an effect on you that has been very positive, giving you strength. I hope the businesswoman was wrong about the hardships and challenges, but we all have those, some worse than others, but I can tell you are and were a strong person and dealt with them, even though it may have been hard. It is also a pleasure for me to learn from you as well/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

