Remembering Our Interesting Childhood Memories (Part 1)

We we’re watching Jimmy Kimmel Live yesterday afternoon and his segment where he asked random people from the street about their interesting stories remind us some of our interesting childhood memories.

Conversation:

Husband: “What’s your interesting story?”

Me: “Oh, I can’t remember…”

Husband: “I know! When you sharpened your fingernail!!”

Me: πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

That’s right folks, I did a lot of crazy stuff when I was a kid and that includes putting my index finger into a SHARPENER.😱

Here is the story:

I was very curious as a kid and most of the times I get too carried away. There are times I forgot to ask and do some unexpected things to satisfy my curiosity.

One afternoon when I was still very young, I couldn’t remember how young but that was even before I started going to school. I was drawing with my new colored pencil when my dad said that it already needs to be sharpened.

I didn’t know how to use a sharpener at that time so I let my dad do it for me while I watched attentively.😳

I was very amazed as I watched closely. I wasn’t sure if that’s the first time I’ve seen a sharpener works but it was so fascinating for me.

I started imagining things. I thought the shavings from the colored pencil was pretty. I imagined it like they were petals from a beautiful flower or a pair of wings from a butterfly. It was so colorful!

After my dad finished, he left me to continue with my drawing while he went to do his own stuff. He expected that I would behave and won’t be doing anything silly. Uhhh…πŸ™„

I was left alone doing my thing. I continued drawing when I noticed that my nails have already grown. I knew my mom uses nail cutter everytime she cuts my nail but my curiosity of the sharpener, how it works, and how it can make wonders led me to try something different.

The moment of truth.

I thought if I cut my nail using the sharpener it would give my nail the same effect like the butterfly wings and the petals. So,Β I confidently put my right index finger into the sharpener andΒ excitedlyΒ twisted my nail into the blade. I was so naive to do that!

I felt the pain right away and quickly pulled my finger out of the sharpener. My finger started bleeding while I felt the stinging pain. It wasn’t included in my imagination though. I was stunned but I didn’t cry. I knew it was my idea. So, I wrapped my index finger into the end of my shirt until it stopped bleeding.

I learned my lesson after that day. Sharpeners are for pencils and nail cutters are for our nails. My parents only laugh about it after they found out and instead of getting upset they teased me to do it again.πŸ™€πŸ˜ΉπŸ˜ΉπŸ˜Ή

Well, I didn’t repeat the same mistake. Atleast not putting another finger into a sharpener but it was another silly thing…πŸ˜‡

What’s your interesting story? Feel free to comment down below. We’d love to hear it!πŸ˜‰

Thanks for viewing everyone!😊

10 thoughts on “Remembering Our Interesting Childhood Memories (Part 1)

  1. I have plenty of them, but would have to think about it. That was a good one. Ouch. Actually I did something similiar. I don’t know where I was but there was a vending machine and I jept seeing people get stuff out of it, so I walked up to it and stuck my hand in the door on the bottom thinking I could pull something out and my hand got stuck. I was a little kid and panicing. I kept pulling it, and someone came over and tried to help me and I finally was able to get it out. It wasn’t really bleeding, but all pinched and red.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing your story grevisangel.😊 It’s nice to remember our childhood memories from time to time especially if it’s something that could make us laugh or smile. Also serve as a good reminder of the lessons that we learned when we were young.πŸ˜‰πŸ‘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

