A Day Well Spent In Brisbane City: Three Days Before Christmas (Part 2)

Previous title: Last Night In South Bank, Brisbane

We’ve been here in Queensland for almost three years yet we don’t have any idea about the happening in South Bank (located on the southern banks of Brisbane river) during this time of the year, the Christmas season. Which is good because we never run out of first time experience while we’re here (this time with my father-in-lawπŸ˜‰). Here’s our expectacular views from last night:

I took this first photo below while I was sitting in one the benches few meters away from the side of the river. It was already crowded at that time yet people are still coming. It was the time of the night where if you leave your seat, don’t expect it to be there. Consider it taken the moment you leave.πŸ˜‚


So, these photos over here which are showing the buildings on the other side was taken when I already left my seat. That’s when I joined my husband and my father-in-law when they found a spot on the side of the river since it has a much better view.


Above photo was taken after I left my seat and joined these two gentlemen. That’s when we missed the Hillsong Christmas Carols concert simply because we have no idea about it and everything that night was a surprise. Lucky for us, we’ve learned that there will be a fireworks show in less than an hour and we could have a better view alongside the river.

However, it was so cold and we forgot our jackets in the car which was parked more or less than two kilometers away from there. Since we couldn’t go back to get our jackets, we decided to leave our spot again and buy some coffee to feel a little warm. If you’re wondering how we got that far, it’s simple, we walked. It was an amazing walk though.πŸ˜‰

Our spot has been taken right away after we left to buy some coffee. Luckily, my husband and my father-in-law found a spot under the tree while I tried to fit in (that’s how much fireworks means to me) our previous spot to get a good view when the show starts. Thankfully, I’m small.

You might also be wondering where the expectacular view I was talking about, well if those photos up there weren’t expectacular enough, I hope these are:

The moment when the fireworks starts…

The fireworks dance along while the Christmas carols were playing. My heart was touched and tears voluntarily rolled down my cheeks. It brought me back to my childhood and it reminds me that Christmas and New Year’s celebration will never be the same again for me and the rest of my family.

I was alone at my spot since the crowd have already covered the place. My husband and my father-in-law stayed where they are and we watched the fireworks separately. I was thankful enough they didn’t saw my damp face. Well, nobody did.

The finale…

The fireworks left a smile on our faces as it faded after the show. It feels as if we were young again. I guess we are… Age is just a number afterall.

But the most important thing I noticed that night was it brought all the people together as one.β™₯️

However, it didn’t end there. We still have to walk for another almost two kilometers to get back to the car, but that’s another story… πŸ˜‰


11 thoughts on “A Day Well Spent In Brisbane City: Three Days Before Christmas (Part 2)

    • Thanks Suzanne, I’m glad you love the photos πŸ’ I was also touched by the artist’s story and I thought it’s worth sharing to inspire others this season 😊 A very Merry Christmas to you πŸŽ„πŸ’–πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

