Celebrating The New Year (Part 1)

It was December 31, 2016.

We drove to Brisbane to watch the fireworks once again. This time we decided to stay for the night and rent a place where we can leave the car so we can roam around and ride the bus on our way back.

Going to South Bank, can’t help but notice this cute little guy on our left. πŸ™‚

We left at half past one so we’ve reached the place at nearly four in the afternoon. Just in time to roam around Brisbane before the fireworks show. We were deciding at that time which would be better: Roam around the city or head straight to South Bank. We chose to go straight to South Bank.

There we bought some hotdogs for our snacks and cold softdrinks to quench our thirst. Since we still got a lot of time before the show, we then decided to ride the CityHopper where it’s FREE.😊

Click link for details:

https://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/traffic-transport/public-transport/citycat-ferry-services/cityhopper

http://joomladay.org.au/images/cityhopper_timetable.pdf

Aside from the ride is free, we get to enjoy the sight before the sun goes down.

This is also our first time to try the CityHopper and we really enjoyed it. We were sitting up stairs where there was no roof so we got to see the whole place. All the people were taking photos to the point that they were standing up just to get the most picturesque view until the officer in charge came by to announce that it was prohibited and everyone who won’t follow will have to go downstairs where there’s not much view. Oh, did I mention that they also have CCTV?πŸ˜‰

And for the most beautiful part of our trip where the city comes to life at night and everything becomes romantic. Here comes the sunset view.❀️

Our trip has ended and I think it was quarter to eight at that time. The fireworks starts at half past eight so we went to look for a perfect spot. I forgot to tell that there were two (ten minutes) fireworks shows that have taken place. First one was around half past eight and the other one was migdnight. Since it was our first time to experience the New Year in (South Bank) Brisbane, we decided to watch both. So lucky!

We were all starving after the fireworks show so we decided to look for a place to have our dinner. There were lots of places to choose from but only one of them offers rice. That’s right, RICE. I’m a rice person and my main meal won’t be the same without it. We walked the whole place just to find rice. We wanted to try something else but still we ended up to the same fast-food restaurant that we’ve tried before (the very first time we went to South Bank). Not my favourite but it’s not that bad. I love their dim sim with sweet chilli or soy sauce.

We were so full after we ate. We still got almost three hours before midnight but since it was so crowded we decided to walk our way and find our spot before we run out. A lot has happened with more than two hours waiting time but what we enjoyed during that time was watching the crowd. There, we saw a cute pair of twins, beautiful couples, wonderful families and pretty ladies with an hour glass shaped body. In case you’re wondering… We’re not perverts or anything like that, we only appreciate beauty.πŸ˜…

So much for waiting. Let the countdown begin in 3, 2, 1…

It’s just sad because of too much photos I wasn’t able to take some more using my phone. I think I have over 6,000 photos and over a hundred videos that I still need to transfer soon…

Going back, it was already midnight and the fireworks show have started. That’s when my husband greeted me a Happy Birthday together with my father-in-law and I greeted them a Happy New Year in return. We were all so joyful as we watched with our mouths wide open while I let my husband took photos and videos. He was still recording when he gave me his gift. I don’t know when he bought it since we’re always together probably when he bought some of our out of stock groceries and I was touched. He never fail to surprise me.πŸ’–

This ring was my husband’s gift unfortunately it didn’t fit, it made me laugh, it has a funny story on it. ^__^

The fireworks lasted for only ten minutes but that was the best ever I’ve seen (in person) in my whole life! I was also thinking about my Dad. What would it be like if only he was here celebrating with us but I think his view was far better than ours. Since he was watching the fireworks from above. I was also thinking as I looked up, maybe he’s also smiling as he was watching over us.πŸ˜‡

It was time to go home.

We walked with the crowd until we’ve reached the bus station. I promise, I’ve never seen anything like it aside from our country before I went here. 

It took some time before we catched our bus but the best thing was: IT WAS FREE! We didn’t know until the people in charge told us. Truly, Australian government is generous to their people. Cheers to Austrailian Government! I wish we have this in our country every once in a while. I’m sure we will all be happy.😊

I was ready for bed when my husband caught me yawning…

We’ve finally reached our destination. A little walk and we were there (the place we rented). It wasn’t a hotel nor a motel but a flat where you can rent a vacant room just for the time being or an occasion. Once again, it was our first time. I can say it’s perfect for people who travelled far and don’t want to spend too much. It was actually nice and comfy. Most of all, it’s neat and tidy. Enough to make our stay feels like we’re home away from home. We also didn’t have to worry since they also have ratings and feedback from previous travellers that we can rely on (it’s very legal like uber). It was a lovely experience all in all.❀️❀️❀️

Thanks for viewing everyone! πŸ˜‰

12 thoughts on “Celebrating The New Year (Part 1)

  1. Thanks for sharing this. That’s really a nice looking city, especially by the water. What a beautiful way to spend New Years. You’re always smiling and look so happy. You are a lucky lady. So many adventures, and a wonderful partner to share all that with. May you have many years of love and adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • my pleasure😊 you know i’m glad to hear from you again, i think i haven’t seen you around for quite some time and i really hope you’re feeling well now after getting sick.. thanks so much for your kind words, i wish you more blessings, happiness, good health, love, and may all your wish come true😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I haven’t been on that much. I was sick for a few days, and then I had a car accident. I didn’t get hurt, but my car was pretty damaged. It’s still driveable, but the car itself had been giving me trouble since I bought it. For almost three weeks we had no way at all to get around. I try to balance time between writing, answering Emails, catching up with fellow bloggers, and Facebook. Thank you for your kind wishes. The same to you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • i’m sorry to hear that..but it’s still a good thing you weren’t hurt, i mean, you can replace you car when you got the chance but we only have one body and one life so it’s still a blessing, i’m glad you’re alright. i wish you could find a good mechanic or the right person to fix your car, i know how hard it is without one (it’s because i don’t drive yet and it’s really hard to walk and commute everytime) i’m really glad to hear from you again grevisangel, don’t forget to take care always πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Apple. I am lucky I wasn’t hurt, that’s so true and I didn’t hurt anyone else. I still have the car, but I have had so much trouble with it, that I don’t want it anymore. The windshield is broken and some other damage. I gave it to my boyfriend, he can do whatever he wants with it, but I don’t think it will last long.
        I just got another vehicle yesterday. It was really cheap, but has a lot of miles on it and it needs work too.
        Having a car is a big expense, especially here where I live. It would be really hard to make it without one though.
        I don’t live very close to town, so it’s pretty essential to have one, but it’s getting to the point where owning a car is almost out of reach.
        Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere, even if I am not on here. I will be, at some point.
        You take care as well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

