Celebrating The New Year (Part 2)

It was January 1, 2017. Finally.πŸ’–

We woke up at 7 o’clock. I didn’t have much sleep. We call it ‘namamahay’ in our country. When you’re new to a place and you couldn’t sleep. We were all awake yet we all stayed in bed for a little bit. Then my father-in-law received a call from his brother who was so excited to greet everybody a happy new year. That’s when we all started to move.

My husband prepared our Chai Latte. We ate our dim sim that we bought for take away the other night and there we had our breakfast. We then started to prepare for our next destination, Surfer’s Paradise. It’s going to be my father-in-law’s first time and we wouldn’t want to miss it for anything.

We started to pack our stuff and made sure that we leave the place as neat and tidy as we first seen it.πŸ˜‰πŸ‘

We drove to Gold Coast after everything was good. We left the flat at nearly half past ten. We parked the car, stroll a little, then we look for a place to have our lunch. I don’t know why but it’s always challenging to find a place to eat especially with the ones that offers rice. 

Although there’s a lot of choices at the Coast maybe it’s the decision making that makes it hard especially when there’s more people involved in it. We finally found a place which was “This” restaurant, where we waited forever before our food has been served. What a terrible experience.😭😭😭


Moving on, we started our stroll after we ate and we’re glad that my father-in-law enjoyed his first time in Surfer’s Paradise. We’re really there to show him the place.πŸ˜‰

We felt the summer heat later on so we bought some icecream. Then we sat on a bench under the tree in front of Cotton On boutique. After gaining our strength and we’re good to go again we went to buy some souvenirs for my father-in-law’s home coming.πŸ’

I’ve also seen something that I really like but since it’s a bit costly I had to fight my urge to buy it. It hurts but I managed to walk away. I’m so proud of myself.😊

It was already three in the afternoon. My father-in-law promised his friend’s daughter that we’ll give her a visit, so we did. It’s for the package she wanted to send her sibling when my father-in-law comes home. And there she prepared a lovely treat.

A friendship that goes a long way…

She made us feel welcomed and we had a long chat. She even prepared a little something for us.

She learned it was my birthday and she greeted me with a hug.

The food was nice and we appreciate her effort. I admire her hospitality, she’s a good host.πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

Meet Shela and her dog Pepper. πŸ™‚

We ended our visit with greetings and smile on our faces. Then we drove home for almost three hours and that’s how we celebrate our New Year’s Day.πŸ’–πŸ’•

I wanted to spend my birthday differently however, I’ve never celebrated it the way I picture it to be.πŸ˜… I guess, it doesn’t matter so long as everybody’s happy.πŸ˜‰ As for me, I have to wait another year to celebrate it as I wish… Atleast, my wish to see the fireworks has been granted!😊


Thanks everyone! πŸ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Celebrating The New Year (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

